Wilderness Dream’s new album Paralysis Rise is a crushing blow to the senses, a mash up of hardcore, heavy metal, punk and raging groove into an sonic artillery shell to rain down on you. Paralysis Rise is the second release from the SF Bay area band and it’s every bit as promising as it is aggressive. It’s a lot more reminiscent of the NYC hardcore scene meets 80’s underground speed metal than what one typically would expect from a Cali metal band. Trust me, that is very much a good thing (no shade Cali we still love ya @ BRM). So despite it’s short length, it is swift and firm in cementing its knuckles in the face of the music world.

Each track on Paralysis Rise is blitzkrieg fast and concrete heavy. The opening instrumental track “Venom” does an excellent job of preparing you for the headbanging to come. If the album could be summed up into a single word it would undoubtedly be “furious”. The combination of rage-filled vocals, thrash riffs and high energy punk style drumming crafts track after track of mosh worthy anthems. All throughout though it still manages an undeniable groove in each song; even the breakdown to “The Lie” lays down one the most old school thrash riffs that still encapsulates a slick rhythm to it that less capable bands would struggle to achieve. The same can be said of the latter half of “No Light” – the guitars go from just straight up throat slashers to poignant stylish solo worthy riffs out of the blue like tap dancing with razor blades strapped to your shoes.

Unapologetic, abrasive, pulse pounding and just all around badass, Paralysis Rise delivers the message loud and clear -”Wilderness Dream is not messing around”. When the full album drops this August you’ll want to be in on this one because the hype is real. Wilderness Dream set out to make a melt your face off, heavy as hell, intense album and completely succeeded from start to finish.

1. Venom
2. Ghosts
3. The Awakening
4. Spiritual Predator
5. The Lie
6. No Light
7. The Observer

Ben Murray – guitars/vocals
Ryan Hansen – guitars/vocals
Trey Derbes – drums
Bret Fontaine – bass

Check out Wilderness Dream here:



Bloodrock Rating:  4.5 outta 5 axes

Written by Ken Kaizer for Bloodrock Media on July 12, 2017