Straight from the sunny shores of Little Rock, Arkansas cometh The Weeping Gate, a Christian melodic death band with FOUR vocalists. The band started as a rock band back in 2007 and, through a slew of roster changes, have molted into what we hear now; a mix of Evanescence, Opeth, and old Cradle Of Filth.

To their credit, the production on Malice & Deceit is really good. The songs aren’t too long and they have a consistent sound to them. The fact that these guys started as a rock band bleeds very little into the EP. Kudos to them.

Malice & Deceit is a five- track disk with some honest to goodness (I’m trying not to cuss- they’re a Christian band, remember?) value to it. Each singer contributes and nobody is left out in any song, which is nice. My favorite track is “Wicked Tree”, which has some shredding solos, and very Dani Filth vocal deliveries – very cool.

The biggest gripe I have with Malice & Deceit is that while the songs themselves are of good quality, I feel like the production was rushed a little bit. Some of the transitions are a little jarring and on more than one song you can hear one of the singers clearly straining a little bit, it noticeably thins out. Sydney’s vocals could have been given a little bit more TLC as well, they’re a bit dry throughout. A bit more production time would have made a world of difference throughout Malice & Deceit.  The foundation is there, it is the finer details that need to be worked out.

Malice & Deceit is fill with five very solid tracks.  With time, and some additional gigging,  I could see The Weeping Gate touring and doing very well; a tour which I’d very much like to see. Every member of this band is extremely talented and Malice & Deceit is a good first release, it just needs a bit of polish.  The Weeping Gate has to get out there and perform live a bit more to gain some experience and make extremely important industry connections, specifically in the recording, mixing, and mastering field(s) so that their next release shines like the stars they are destined to be.  I genuinely look forward to hearing their next release and/or seeing them live in the future.

FFO: Cradle Of Filth, Dimmu Borgir, Opeth, Arch Enemy

Genre: Black Metal

Band Lineup
Sydney Halcumb – Keys, vocals
Jason Grunwald – Guitars, Vocals, keys
Robert Halcumb – Guitars, Vocals
Jamie Garza – Bass, vocals
Jarrod Ives – Drums

Track List
1. The Shoah
2. Mockery
3. Wicked Tree
4. Empires
5. Malice & Deceit

Web links:


Bloodrock Rating:  3.5 out of 5.0 axes

Written by Hobbes Caltous for Bloodrock Media on July 8, 2017