Eldritch:  This is the word that comes to mind when I listen to the debut full-length album, In Passing Ascension, from Minneapolis, Minnesota’s blackened death newcomers, Suffering Hour.  For those who are unfamiliar with the term, eldritch is defined as “weird and sinister or ghostly”, and to a T, this word perfectly describes the discordantly beautiful madness that is the brand-new album being spewed forth from Sweden’s Blood Harvest Records on May 26th, 2017.

Forceful, baleful, and utterly turbulent, Suffering Hour’s In Passing Ascension is like nothing I’ve ever heard before.  The only way that I can possibly describe this music is that this is what it must sound like when an unmovable object is met by an unstoppable force.  Pitch-bending, atonal high guitars shriek and howl across devastating – but still wholly melodic – rhythm guitars, bass, and drums to produce a sound that is unforgettably haunting in its delivery; and then coupled with the screams, growls, and howls of the vocals, what results is downright delectable blackened death chaos.

Some of the finer selections from In Passing Ascension include “For the Putridity of Man”, “The Abrasive Black Dust” (my personal favorite) – and its subsequent instrumental postlude, “Withering Microcosmos” – “Through Vessels of Arcane Power”, and the nearly nine-minute oeuvre, “Procession to Obscure Infinity”.  Seriously, though, from front to back, this offering is one hundred percent, high quality shit, and I’ve only just touched upon the highlights, so be sure to visit the links provided below to have a listen to Suffering Hour’s In Passing Ascension straightaway, and if you like what you hear (and I’m willing to bet that you will), support the artist by purchasing yourself some merchandise.  All right, I’ve spoken my piece.  Now go forth, and keep it metal.

Suffering Hour Bandcamp Link:  https://bloodharvestrecords.bandcamp.com/album/in-passing-ascension-cd-12lp

Suffering Hour Facebook Link:  https://www.facebook.com/SufferingHourMetal/

FFO:  The Ruins of Beverast, Epoch of Unlight, Dark Sermon, Mouth of Madness

Genre:  Blackened Death Metal

Album Lineup:  DgS (bass, vocals), IsN (drums, vocals), and YhA (guitars, vocals)

In Passing Ascension Tracklisting:
1. “Insufferable Scorn” (1:56)
2. “For the Putridity of Man” (5:17)
3. “Devouring Shapeless Void” (4:13)
4. “The Abrasive Black Dust” (6:53)
5. “Withering Microcosmos” (1:58)
6. “Through Vessels of Arcane Power” (5:04)
7. “Procession to Obscure Infinity” (8:44)
8. “Empty Avowls” (5:55)

Bloodrock Media Rating: 4.5 out of 5.0 AXES


Written by Geoff Teach for Bloodrock Media on May 24, 2017