When I think of the words “melodic death metal,” or when a band presents themselves as such, they’re not what I was imagining. “Melodic” implies a melody, and most of the time there is none.

Such is the case with Italy’s Suffer In Silence. That said, it was still an interesting listen! I will say, the front end of the album isn’t a very good representation of the band. The first three tracks (“Nostalgia,” “Forced to Hate,” and “Eternal Slaves”) sound a little forced, while the back half of the album (minus the four-minute interlude “Lost”) sounds a bit more like a band of this caliber should sound. My favorite track is definitely “Zero Respect” because it has just the most brutal sound. Starting from the sword being unsheathed, it kicks immediately into high gear and just doesn’t let up!

It’s definitely the best track on an otherwise pretty cliche’ album.

I feel that “Lost” is another really great track, but it is completely shoehorned into an album like this. Had there been a dynamic that welcomed such a huge departure from the utter brutality of the rest of Beautiful Lies, I think it would have been a better fit, but it’s the only track that has any real melody in my opinion.

Like In Flames, a band like this could actually do really well if they opened themselves up a bit. Some of this stuff had INSANE song structure, but Patrick Amati’s vocals really don’t fit the sound. I feel like he has a range he hasn’t tapped, and I hope he does.

And, when it all comes down to it, that’s my only beef with Beautiful Lies. Were Amati’s vocals to sound any different, maybe less Cannibal Corpse and more Soilwork, these guys would blow up in a New York minute! And for that, I give Suffer In Silence’s Beautiful Lies a 2.5 out of 5.

Beautiful Lies dropped September 15th 2017.

FFO: Cannibal Corpse, Carcass

01 – Nostalgia
02 – Forced to Hate
03 – Eternal Slaves
04 – Live with No Tomorrow
05 – S.I.S.
06 – Lost
07 – Zero Respect
08 – Dreams of Glory
09 – The Four Horsemen

Patrick Amati – Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Synth
(featuring drummer Filippo ‘Ciko’ Cicoria)

Check out Suffer In Silence here:


Written by Hobbes Caltous for Bloodrock Media on December 4, 2017