SOUND STORM – VERTIGO (Rockshots Records)

Listen to the first couple tracks of Vertigo, and you’ll easily figure out what Torino, Italy’s Sound Storm is going for; all out, in your face cinematics, and at least in part, they succeed!

The album starts off with a nice, short intro, as the title track. To its credit, it doesn’t run long and it has a well defined direction. Nice job.

It carries directly into “The Dragonfly”, which continues Vertigo’s semi-slow tempo with some kickin’ double bass. If one dug deep enough, one could find himself thinking there’s a bit of similarity with old Cradle of Filth. The whole album has a would be progressive metal sound to it, were there a bit more prog in it.

Some of it reminded me of Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (an old Playstation game), especially the fifth track “Original Sin.”

Unfortunately, my interest stopped there. The sad part of this story is, the album sounds contrived, and a bit derivative. Nothing on this album is anything I haven’t heard a hundred times already, and some of the songs sound like they were written with the exact same formula as bands like Hammerfall and Tristania. It doesn’t SOUND bad, but I
found myself skipping around a lot to find something interesting to listen to.

The mix was also a bit lacking. I don’t know if it was done on purpose and, given the band’s chosen genre label, it might have been. The vocals are a little buried in the mix, and they’re dry throughout the album. There was also a small moment in “Gemini” where I could swear I heard Fabio’s voice go, and they should’ve caught that. I feel like there’s something there but they need to explore exactly where they want the band to go, because right now, it sounds like they’re trying to emulate other bands too much for them to have made their own sound.

Storm Cloud makes a good go at it. Vertigo was a solid effort for the band. Unfortunately, it falls short in almost every facet, making it very difficult to keep your interest. I will say that, given the band’s talent, I KNOW they can do better, but on this disk, it’s all pretty lackluster. For this, I give Vertigo a 1.5 out of 5.

Vertigo dropped on October 13, 2017.

FFO: Ghost, Iron Maiden, Dream Theater

Fabio Privitera – Vocals
Valerio Sbriglione – Lead and Rhythm Guitar
Elena Crolle – Piano and Keyboards
Massimiliano Flak – Bass
Sascha Blackice – Rhythm Guitar
Alessandro Bissa – Drums

01 – Vertigo
02 – The Dragonfly
03 – Metamorphosis
04 – Forsaken
05 – Original Sin
06 – The Ocean
07 – Spiral
08 – Gemini
09 – Alice
10 – The last Breath

Check out Sound Storm here:


Written by Hobbes Caltous for Bloodrock Media, November 13, 2017.