SOEN’s Joel Ekelöf Discusses “Lykaia” Lyrical Topics + Modern Recording Techniques in Weekly Video Series
Watch Here, Exclusively via MetalSucks
New Album Lykaia out Worldwide: February 3, 2017 via UDR Music
Pre-Orders Available Now – See Below

SOEN – the heavy progressive rock group featuring world-renowned drummer Martin Lopez (formerly of Amon Amarth and Opeth) and the dynamic voice of Joel Ekelöf (Willowtree) – will release their upcoming full-length opus Lykaia on February 3, 2017 via UDR Music. Lykaia is a journey into earthy, emotive places, and is SOEN‘s most cohesive, powerful and congruent creative quest yet.
Last week, MetalSucks posted the first segment of their exclusive, three-week SOEN video interview series, in which Martin Lopez discussed the formation of SOEN after striking out on his own, and detailed the band’s new track “Opal” atop a sample of the unreleased track. This week’s segment will feature Joel Ekelöf discussing his take on Lykaia‘s lyrical content, as well as the band’s approach to organic recordings and his feelings about digital recordings and backing tracks in modern music. Watch here:
Stay tuned for a third segment of the video series with MetalSucks, posting next Thursday.
Lykaia pre-orders are now available in three formats – digitally, audio CD in digisleeve, and gatefold vinyl. Order now and receive “Sectarian” and “Lucidity” as immediate downloads.
Amazon MP3:  
“Sectarian” instant grat:
While online, make sure to listen to the strikingly diverse new tracks “Sectarian” and “Lucidity“, both streaming via YouTube now.
For those who have followed the SOEN‘s career thus far, the new album’s concepts of journey and exploration are not new. 2012’s Cognitive beat a firmly heavy, progressive metal path. 2014’s Tellurian – with its Pink Floyd explorative spirit and Opeth-like forceful power – saw SOEN start to stride freely into their own control and unique visions. Lykaia sees SOEN remain fascinated with the shadows and the darker edges of our world, with a particular focus on the various thoughts and concepts behind religion and ritualistic, belief-based behaviour in society.
If the first two albums were harder, more technical, angular and perhaps cerebral pieces which demanded sharp focus, Lykaia presents a warmer, rounder, flesh and blood on the bones approach that allows listeners a dual entry to the eight tracks presented. The journey is no less dynamic, continuing the underscore of complex melodies with crushing power and no fear of walking proudly into more ambient spaces to explore the temperature. With Lykaia, however, it is clear that SOEN have never felt more congruent or sure of themselves.
Recorded at Ghost Ward, StudioGröndal and Deep Well in Stockholm, Sweden, with production duties handled by guitarist Marcus Jidell and mixing by Stefan Boman, SOEN kept things as far away from the digital age as possible on Lykaia, embracing warmth and organic recordings as the drive behind the technical working process.
LykaiaTrack listing:
1 – Sectarian   
2 – Orison         
3 – Lucidity       
4 – Opal             
5 – Jinn              
6 – Sister           
7 – Stray            
8 – Paragon
SOEN is:
Joel Ekelöf, vocals
Martin Lopez, drums and percussion
Stefan Stenberg, bass
Lars Åhlund, organ and rhodes
Marcus Jidell, guitars
SOEN online: