Russian conceptual metal band Samadhi Sitaram recently released their newest full length album Kaliyuga Babalon courtesy of Sliptrick Records.

This band definitely falls under conceptual with their music, but it’s done in a pretty cool way. A mix of somewhat nu-metal style guitar tracks adds a melodic touch to it, but it keeps the heavier breakdown style of the music the vocals are modeled after. One of my favorites on the album was “Shangri La,” which sounded like a melodic deathcore song, with chugginess and groove metal influence but paired with deathcore style vocals. What really intrigued me about this band is that they didn’t seem to have a set idea. This album sounds like a bunch of talented musicians just got together and made what they think sounded good, and it sounds pretty dope.

There is also a lot of middle eastern influence in their music, even down to their name and aesthetics, and it works for what they’re doing. It’s not often you find something refreshing in metal, especially out of such a small band. My only issue with this album is that sometimes it can groove and make you wanna headbang, while other times it seems to just kind of fall flat. It seems as if they had the right idea, but it didn’t translate on every single song. Even despite this, Kaliyuga Babalon is definitely interesting and worth checking out!

Kaliyuga Babalon was a unique and interesting album, definitely worth a listen.

Don’t forget to check this album out! 3.0 out of 5.0 Axes

FFO: Richard Wagner, Meshuggah

Leonid Grushko (vocals)
Sergey Zakharov (guitars)
Alexey Mosin (bass)
1. Intro
2. Kali Yuga
3. The Death of a Stone
4. Apotheosis
5. Q. Prelude
6. Qliphoth
7. Orgy (Ritual Babalon)
8. Shangri La

Check out Samadhi Sitaram here:


Written by Ethan Grason for Bloodrock Media on August 7, 2017