This will actually be quite a short review, as I don’t really have a whole lot to say about it!

Perished was a band back in the 90’s who had some success- enough to sign to Solistitium Records anyway. They did okay in Norway, and then they pretty much vanished into thin air.

Thankfully, ATMF have seen fit to re-release their first full- length album, Kark, and, I must say, I’m picky as hell when it comes to black metal. There’s just too many D&D– playing nerds out there caking the makeup on and doing it WRONG.

That said, I really enjoyed Kark! I was immediately reminded of the band Old Man’s Child, whose song “Phantom Of Mortum Tales” actually got me interested in black metal in the first place. There’s also similarities with Dimmu Borgir and Opeth, which should pique your interest. None of this should surprise you though, because all of these bands came out of the almighty black metal pit that is Scandinavia, soooo…

If these guys were still around today, I think they’d be holding their own pretty well in the black metal scene. Thing about heavier genres like black metal and death metal is, the formula doesn’t change a whole lot, so they could be doing exactly what they were doing, today, and do just fine. The ONLY gripe that I have with Kark is the overall mix. It’s too thin, and that’s about it. The guitars are amazing, the drumming is killer, and the vocals are (even for a Skid Row fan like me) really REALLY strong.

The label only released a limited amount of 500 copies of the album on disk, so I think you should run, don’t walk, and order your copy.

Kark dropped on June 26, 2017. You might want to hurry and grab your copy.

FFO: Dimmu Borgir, Behemoth, Opeth

Track List:
1. Introduksjon
2. Imens vi venter…
3. Stier til visdoms krefter
4. På nattens vintervinger
5. Iskalde strømmer
6. …og spjuta fauk
7. Befri de trolske toner
8. Renheten og gjenkomsten
9. A Landscape of Flames (bonus track)
10. Kald som aldri før (Ep – bonus track)
11. Gjennom skjærende lys (Ep – bonus track)


Bloodrock Rating:  4.0 out of 5.0

Written by Hobbes Caltous for Bloodrock Media, July 24, 2017