NY in 64 unites members of several past and present bands to present The Gentle Indifference of the Night, released on May 26, 2017, courtesy of Magic Bullet Records. Combining members of 90’s screamo (swoon) band You and I, and contemporary progressive metal band members of East of the Wall, NY in 64 unveils this instrumental work of art for public enjoyment.

The Gentle Indifference of the Night, completely devoid of vocals, presents a punk mix with post-hardcore sound. Each song displays how talented each of these guys are with their mastered instruments. The melding and weaving of various metal/rock genres in every song seems almost effortless for this foursome. From hard punk sounds, to slower, softer riffs over gently supporting drums, there isn’t a song on the album that is stale or monotonous. The Gentle Indifference of the Night will appeal to the lovers of headbanging, the lovers of gentle swaying, the in between lovers (ha – see what I did there?) If you can’t find something you like on this album, you may just be listening to a different album.

NY in 64 has seemingly effortlessly mastered the art of capturing and holding an audience’s attention. The band is comprised of some seriously talented individuals who know exactly how to intertwine their talents to create beautiful music. I’ve said before that I’m not a huge fan of instrumentals, but The Gentle Indifference of the Night leaves nothing to be desired – it is entertaining from start to finish. There isn’t one song that is boring, or that will make you want to skip ahead. Plus, they have NY in their band name (holla at’cha girl) – so how could anyone expect anything less than amazing? 


  1. Couldn’t Be Saved
  2. The Endless Spiral
  3. It Gets Worse
  4. Don’t Breathe Out
  5. 50lbs of Ash
  6. Her Chosen Hell

Justin Hock – Guitars
Thomas Schlatter – Bass
Chris Alfano – Guitars
Seth Rheam – Drums

Check out NY in 64 here:


Bloodrock Rating:  4.0 out of 5.0 axes

Written by Har-Lena Quinn for Bloodrock Media on June 13, 2017