Madrost will explode all over the metal scene with their new album The Essence of Time Matches No Flesh on June 26, 2017.  In the same vein as organized madness a la Between the Buried and Me, old school Dillinger Escape Plan, or iwrestledabearonce, Madrost displays unique mastery of turning what appears to be chaos into intricate order.

With insane levels of intensity matched by groove and aggressive charisma, The Essence of Time Matches No Flesh, blends elements of post hardcore punk, black metal and death metal into a brand new beast.  Tracks like Eyes of Deceit and From Sand to Dustabsolutely destroy the notion that heavy music can’t be ridiculously catchy, without being radio-friendly.  

If Danzig era Misfits and Death (R.I.P. Chuck S.) had a baby that grew up and started a dope band, Madrost is probably what it would sound like and The Essence of Time Matches No Flesh would be its masterpiece.  The album clocks in at about 37 minutes, so the only real bummer here is that it feels like it’s over way too soon, while somehow still feeling complete (it’s still a mystery on how that is possible).  The Essence of Time Matches No Flesh is the missing piece in your roster of albums on regular rotation, once you hit play on this bad boy you will be absolutely certain that you have fallen in love with it’s destructive allure, and you will yearn for more.   

1. Eyes of the Deceit
2. The Silence in Ruins
3. From Sand to Dust
4. Abstractions
5. No Future
6. Scorned
7. Dimensions

Tanner Poppitt – Vocals/Guitar
Richard Orellana – Bass
Mark Rivas – Drums
Necro Nick – Guitar

Check out Madrost here:


Written by Ken Kaizer for Bloodrock Media on May 13, 2017
Check out our website and follow us on social media