LOSTAIR – AD JUBILAEUM (Revalve Records)

I didn’t even read the press release, because with an album title like Ad Jubileaum, I wanted to keep an open mind. What I was expecting was Italian death metal, and that’s not quite what I got.

“Ad Jubilaeum” is Latin for “The Jubilee.” I don’t know if there’s a special meaning to that, but I suspect that it was titled that because it sounds cool. From listening to the lyrics and reading the notes, I know that this album is a concept album dealing with the band’s feelings on religion and its dominance over the western world, but it doesn’t stop there. They sort of go off on a tangent about the rumored Bible code and the hidden meanings in the book.

The album’s sound successfully goes between full on death metal and more of a beatdown/ thrash tone, which I liked, but, and I have to be honest, it didn’t keep my attention very well. While the instrumentation was mixed really well, the vocals are a bit buried and dryly mixed.

A band like this could do pretty well in the European market but, I’m sorry to say, they’d have to get better at writing. I feel that when you’re going with a high concept offering, it needs to be more poetic, and this is a bit more blunted, so aside from the vocals being hard to listen to, the lyrics weren’t in keeping with the message (which has been done a LOT). A perfect example of this is the album’s sixth track, “The Bible Code,” which not only shows the barely mixed vocals, but the triteness of its content.

I sense that the band themselves mixed the album (and I’m pretty sure it was the second guitarist), and this again is why I am a staunch believer in hiring someone else to do the job.

I don’t want to tear this band apart, because the fact is they’re pretty good at writing songs, but I feel that the big weak point in the band is the singer’s overall tone and writing style. The good news is that I’m pretty sure they can do better, and I hope they do. So for that, I give Ad Jubilaeum a 2 out of 5.

FFO: Amon Amarth, Carcass

Teo – Voice and Guitar
Andrea – Girardello Guitar
Gorgi – Bass
Stizza – Drums

01 – Exodus
02 – At the Hands of Black Inquisition
03 – Rise
04 – Where the Angels Die
05 – Vaticanum
06 – The Bible Code
07 – Trinity
08 – The Fall of Any Gods
09 – Finis Dierum

Check out Lostair here:

Written by Hobbes Caltous for Bloodrock Media, October 29th, 2017.