LANTERN Debut New Song: “Lucid Endlessness”


Finnish Death Dealers LANTERN have premiered a new song from forthcoming Dark Descent Records album II: Morphosis, courtesy of No Clean Singing. Stream the beast at this location.

Dark Descent Records will once again unleash Finland’s LANTERN upon the huddled masses. The band’s second full-length, II: Morphosis, is set for a March 17 release.  

Pre-order the album on CDblack vinyland blue/black splatter vinyl.

Make sure to check out Decibel’s exclusive stream of “Black Miasma” here.

II: Morphosis was mixed and mastered by Dan Lowndes/Resonance Sound Studios. Artwork by Zbigniew M. Bielak. 

“Since LANTERN’s debut full-length Below perfectly got the zeitgeist of the mid-10’s dark and arcane DM revival DARK DESCENT RECORDS has almost become synonymous for, it would have made perfect sense for those Finns to simply so to speak return to very same cave and lock themselves up down there with no heat nor light for two weeks straight to conjure the same type of pitch black music. But this is where you draw the line in between those happy with their little niche and the real artists, destined to expand their horizon no matter what… 

Fear not, II – Morphosis isn’t trying to reach for the light either and still reeks of the ancient metal ov death foul stench. And even if they’ve now officially integrated the three extra members the initial duo had with them since 2011 for live activities and recorded it as a five piece, there’s still here a palpable sense of obscurity throughout those nine songs, as if being seen through a veiled curtain.

But many actually will probably actually be quite surprised by how articulate but also strangely melodic the ‘new’ LANTERN is. While a track like “Cleansing of the Air” or the epic instrumental “Necrotic Epiphanies” carry a strong thrash influence that can also be found in Necrophilos’ scruffy vocals, the album is first and foremost packed with twisted riffs that spiral on and off that pierce through the thick fog it conjures like razors. But no matter how hectic the whole thing gets, they never loose control, like some kind of bizarre version of TREBLINKA not led by clueless teenagers but proper musicians determined to get on a short leash the madness that drives them.

Like on Below, the album’s brilliantly detailed yet disturbing artwork courtesy of Zbigniew M. BIelak is a collage of various concepts developed in the songs while Dan Lowndes of Resonance Sound Studios took care of the mixing and mastering duties, resulting in an album both daring and unique.” – Olivier “Zoltar” Badin

“Far and away the most anticipated album of 2017.”
 – Cvlt Nation
“Morphosis is a masterpiece, definitely a standout record for 2017 that will be hard to touch for its distinctiveness and craftsmanship.”
– No Clean Singing
“Some bands go for a more energetic approach akin to the style’s thrash forebears, while others lean toward a dark and atmospheric sound. Lantern manages to strike an engaging and riff-tastic balance.”
– Decibel
“A sickening sound that just oozes death.”

 – Cadaver Garden

“Lantern have quite the opportunity to become one of the style’s next ‘it’ bands. An early career breakthrough.”
 – Dead Rhetoric

“Lantern positively reek of old-school death metal’s foul, atavistic stench, albeit one that’s been dipped in the grim waters of black metal’s malevolence.”
 – Wonderbox Metal

“An excellent album where you take a step beyond the more classic style of Old School Death Metal.”
 – Necromance

“So incredibly exciting! Ideal background for a revival of Jesus-vs.-Lazarus by means of necromantic rituals.”
– XXL-Rock

“Black/Death Metal with a strong blend of Thrash and subtle melodic elements.”
 – Invicta Magazine

Cruciatus – lead guitar
Necrophilos – vocals
J. Noisehunter – bass
St. Belial – rhythm guitar
J. Poussu – drums