Hate Unbound – Plague

The Motor City is going to be taken over by molten metal on February 17th, the date Hate Unbound is scheduled to release their debut album, Plague, courtesy of Inverse Records. Hate Unbound, made up of Art Giammara (vocals), Daryl Mitchell (guitar), William Cundiff (guitar), Sean Demura (bass), and Franklin Hannah (drums), make no excuses but what they do make is heavy, groove-laden death and trash metal.

From the moment Plague begins it is abundantly clear Hate Unbound is about to shred your face off. Coming at you with a straight savage metal fury, no mercy and leaves behind no prisoners, Plague hits like a sonic sledgehammer and will make your inner-sadist thank it for the pleasure. A hellacious harmonic mix of unholy sounds reminiscent of bands like Lamb of God, Deicide, and Death, Hate Unbound manages to sound as unique as they are fierce, avoiding the pitfall of mediocrity all too common among their metal brethren. The fellas know what they were doing and Plague does an excellent job at matching the vibe of the song, with the pace and length, keeping it short and sweet when necessary and expanding when it is called for.  Huge kudos for that!

The opening track, “Baptized in Lies” kicks off with the guttural, biting vocals, courtesy of Giammara and a violent attack by Hannah on drums. The guitar riffs by Mitchell and Cundiff emanate ominously throughout, not to mention the searing guitar solo which is like a cherry on top of this deliciously wicked sundae. Other tracks worth a mention are “Cut”, “Soiled”, and “The Fallen”, all exhibiting extraordinary guitar prowess, unfathomably powerful drumming, and intense grating vocals. From start to finish Plague is a solid piece of glorious, dark thrash metal art.

Hate Unbound is a breath of heavy, menacing air and with the release of Plague mid-February and a tour kicking off in April, you won’t want to miss a chance to breathe it all in.


Track Listing:

1. Baptized in Lies
2. Cut
3. Suffering
4. Burn Your Idols
5. Soiled
6. Puncture
7. Plague
8. I, Martyr
9. Grey Skies
10. The Fallen

Check out the guys from Hate Unbound:


Written by Ken Bowden for Bloodrock Media on January 30, 2017