GLASS MIND – DODECAEDRO (Rock Shots Records)

We don’t get a lot of music from Mexico, and when we do, it’s mostly death metal. It’s in that respect that I imagine Glass Mind having a tough time booking shows, because I can’t imagine there being a lot of prog rock bands down there, and even less fans for such a band, especially given that there’s no vocals.

That said, I found Dodecaedro enjoyable because, after a long day of listening to music that makes you want to kill someone, singer-less prog rock is a good palate cleanser. Listening to music that’s meant to be appreciated versus the heavier stuff is a theraputic way to clear your head, and when I’m not listening to the vocals, I can appreciate the beauty of the music and/or sort of tune it out slightly while I do something else, like polish my gun collection (which I was doing at the time).

This album has, in its own form, a very classical feel to it because without vocals, you have only the music to bring you and make you feel something, and I’m one of those people who can literally be brought to tears if a piece of music is beautiful enough to do so. This isn’t in that ballpark, but you get my point.

I also liked that the songs are all over the place, not just rhythmically and stylistically (there’s even some middle eastern music thrown in there) but in length! You have songs that are just over a minute long, and then there’s a couple, like “Inside the Whale”, which is over eight minutes and not boring at all.

The fact that something like this dug its way out of Mexico is nothing short of a miracle. Not only do they have a label contract with Rock Shots, but they also have quite a following, which I think is a very good thing. I can’t imagine it’s very easy to gain such a thing in a country that’s dominated by opposite ends of the spectrum.

All in all, it’s a pretty good album. I think any prog head will like this, and I highly recommend you give Dodecaedro a shot if you’re into it. It’s not the best thing I’ve ever heard, but I will be listening to it again in situations where I don’t need anything heavy! For this, I give Doedcaedro a 4 out of 5.

FFO: Fibonacci Sequence, Dream Theater

Benjamín Berthier – Guitars
Edgar Garduño – Drums
Pablo Berthier – Guitars
Michel Villamor – Bass

01 – Babel
02 – Caliente
03 – Fu
04 – Humedo
05 – Inside the Whale
06 – Frio
07 – Detritus
08 – Seco
09 – Dodecaedro

Check out Glass Mind here:


Written by Hobbes Caltous for Bloodrock Media, October 29, 2017