Doom/Death Metal Duo MONTFAUCON Reveal
Majestic New Track “The Last Night”
Listen Now, Exclusively via Decibel
New Album Renaissance out
February 17, 2017 | Pre-Orders Available via Bandcamp
Mixed & Mastered by Dan Swanö (Edge
of Sanity, Bloodbath, Katatonia)
MONTFAUCON – the medieval era-inspired doom/death metal concept
project from Uzbekestani duo Valentin Mayamsin and Michel Cadenzar – will
release their six-track album, Renaissance, on February 17, 2017.
Pre-orders are available via Bandcamp,
where you can also stream their new track “Prisoner”.
In anticipation of the album’s release, MONTFAUCON have revealed
another new track, entitled “The Last Night”. The track – which, like
“Prisoner” and their band name, was inspired by The Hunchback of
and originally conceived nearly a decade ago draws from
black metal, progressive doom and symphonic metal influences, accented by
Michel’s complex, haunting piano melodies. Take a listen to “The Last
Night”, exclusively via Decibel Magazine, here:
Valentin states, “When I first heard Michel’s piano playing many
years ago — back when we were both aviation students in a university in
Tashkent, Uzbekistan — I loved it because it was so dark and there was so much
feeling to it. I realized I could put heavy guitar on top of it without much
experimentation, without doing much to change the arrangement.”
“The Last Night” is one of our most lyrical
and melodic songs. The lyrics are inspired by Victor Hugo’s ‘Notre-Dame de
Paris’ (The Hunchback of Notre-Dame),”
continues Valentin. “I was struck by the
depiction of medieval execution by hanging and displaying the bodies as a warning
to other people. Relatives were not allowed to bury their bodies according to
Christian traditions. The story tells about a poor guy who risked his life to
follow religious tradition, to save a soul of a hanged man.”
MONTFAUCON resonates with historic tales of violence and
upheaval, exploring the implications and consequences of emotional turmoil,
aggression and fear. Renaissance – which features mixing and
mastering from death metal veteran Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity, Bloodbath,
) – is a majestic, eclectic and musically diverse portrait of
darkness, desperation and barbarism that presents a new perspective on the
ever-shifting landscape of extreme metal.
Renaissance track listing:
1. Prisoner
2. I Was A Warrior
3. Alone
4. Mastermind
5. Insanity
6. The Last Night
MONTFAUCON achieves a sound that’s at once brutal and beautiful,
alternately direct and dizzying. From one song to the next, there are hints of
well-known acts such as Satyricon, Darkthone, Cradle of Filth, Death, Opeth
and Pink Floyd, as well as traces of more obscure artists, including Lux
Occulta, Dominion
and My Dying Bride.
It’s incredible that Valentin and Michel have crafted such diverse,
high-impact and intensely melodic songs from opposite parts of the world (Valentin
resides in the San Francisco Bay Area, while Michel continues to reside in
their native Uzbekestan). What’s even more impressive is that as
forward-thinking as the songs on Renaissance are, the skeletons
were written years ago, and early versions of some of the tracks were played on
metal radio in Uzbekistan, and were well received by the region’s loyal
underground scene.
When it was time for Valentin to start putting Renaissance
together back in his home studio in San Francisco, he struggled at first to
find the right gear and learn how to use it. Since he didn’t have much
experience with home recording, he experienced several setbacks. To make sure
the songs sounded as good on the digital files as they did when he played them
in his living room, Valentin hired The Faceless guitarist Michael Keene
to help him assemble a rig that would yield a high quality recording.
For metal fans who are excited to hear more, MONTFAUCON are
already working on five or six new death/prog songs that will leave listeners
speechless. Until then, Renaissance should be inspiring and
enthralling enough to keep listeners completely satisfied. Stay tuned for more
updates leading up to the release of Renaissance in
Michel Cadenzar – piano, keyboards, sampling

Valentin Mayamsin –
guitars, bass, vocals, sampling