Quick, when you think Nashville, what comes to mind? Country music? That crappy TV show? How about heavy metal? That’s exactly what we’re about to talk about, as Dark Hound are set to release their second full-length album titled Dawning in January 2018, after their 2014 self-titled debut and 2015 EP Oceans.

The opener “The Ashes of Your Worth” is a pretty straight forward modern metal track, the difference being the vocals, which are slightly reminiscent of classic metal. There are a couple short but sweet solos here which make the track stand out. “Guilt Tripper” opens with guitars and drums working together in a crescendo before the vocals kick in. Punching guitar riffs and melodic, almost haunting vocals flow through the chorus, sounding a bit like Ghost. This is probably my favorite track on this album.

“Carnival of Youth” opens with a pretty catchy riff that caught my attention right away, and the track as a whole is pretty easy to get stuck in your head. “The Answer” opens with sweet guitar work as well, this time with solo-like riffs. The drumming is superb, and the vocals differentiate in style a bit from previous tracks, lending more of a growl to the track.

Speaking of differentiating in style, let’s cut ahead to “Stripped Away,” which opens with an acoustic jam before the electric guitars cut in over it and the vocals throw down. The vocals here are faster and heavier than in previous tracks, lending much more energy to the track as a whole. That vocal energy carries over to the next track “Balancing Act,” which has some pretty catchy riffs in it, but aside from the high energy vocals and hooky riffs there’s not a lot there worth writing home about.

“The Jagged Edge” mixes heavy riffs with high notes on guitar. The vocals here are more theatric than they’ve been in previous tracks, giving the whole thing kind of a spooky vibe. “Thrashgasm” sounds like something Motörhead would’ve put out back in the day if they collaborated with GWAR. Punching riffs open up the album’s closer “Here Lies Truth”. The classic metal sound of ET Brown‘s vocals – which pick up the tempo during the chorus and become highly melodic during the bridge – do credit to the track, as does a killer guitar solo.

Dawning unfortunately didn’t wow me the way I hoped it would. There are some parts that are great for sure, and it doesn’t necessarily fall short in any one area, but it’s mostly pretty basic and straightforward. All of the elements you’ve come to expect from a modern metal album are there, but ultimately Dark Hound has failed to utilize these elements in any new or refreshing manner, aside from a few pieces here and there. That’s fine, and I don’t want to imply that Dawning is a bad album, because it isn’t by any means bad. It just didn’t grab my attention as effectively as I feel like it could have.

1. The Ashes of Your Worth
2. Guilt Tripper
3. Carnival of Youth
4. The Answer
5. Crisis of Hope
6. Thrown to the Wolves
7. Stripped Away
8. Balancing Act
9. The Jagged Edge
10. Thrashgasm
11. Here Lies Truth

ET Brown – Vocals/Bass
Evan Hensley – Guitars
Preston Walls – Guitars
Josh Brown – Drums

Check out Dark Hound here:





Written by Mitch Ellerbrock for Bloodrock Media on January 8, 2017