Backswing is reppin’ Detroit and crashing into the metal scene with the release of their EP SOS, courtesy of German record label DemonsRunAmok, on July 28, 2017. There are also talks of fall and winter tours, so keep your eyes peeled for dates.

“Still Sick” is going to kick off with – what’s this? – a female vocalist! Not your average female vocalist, though. Marissa Ward’s voice is proving that females can hang with the dudes. At times accompanied by deep, male, growling vocals, creating a contrast that just flows. This combination over heavy riffs and crashing drums is purely metal. “Short Breath” starts off heavy – crashing drums, hard riffs, and Marissa bringing it home with her vocals all over again. “Corset” contains my favorite lyric, which definitely made me chuckle – “maybe I was born this way or maybe it’s the fucking Maybelline”. Wrapping the album up is “Extinguished”, which is the perfect song to finish with. It shows off more bass, more drums, a combination of vocals – it shines light upon the talents that this band boasts, all in one song. It’s almost as if they saved the best for last – almost.

Backswing proves that chicks can hang with the boys, and we like that. There aren’t that many metal bands that boast a female vocalist as the lead – and we appreciate that – you know, girl power. If you’re still unsure but you love banging riffs, explosive drums and lyrics you can sing along to, check SOS out. The album is metal, through and through. If you’re like me, and you like gratuitous swearing – this album is also for you.


  1. Intro
  2. Still Stick
  3. Gut Check
  4. Short Breath
  5. Corset
  6. SOS
  7. Extinguished

Marissa Ward
Adam Ribant
Brandon Hamilton
Keith Brooks
Cody Beardsley

Check out Backswing here:


Written by Har-Lena Quinn for Bloodrock Media on May 15, 2017
Check out our website and follow us on social media