The powerful Spanish black metal band, Atrexial, is set to release their debut album, Souverain, on May 30, 2017 via Godz Ov War Productions.  Souverain is packed full of harsh riffs, cut throat vocals, and thunderous, yet precise drumming; presenting black metal fans with something fresh, gritty, and explosive to blast as loud as possible all summer long.
Souverain checks all of the boxes of what is expected of a black metal album; simple and to the point. Atrexial did not attempt to reinvent the wheel with Souverain, nor did they arbitrarily add glitter to make it pretty.  What they, effectively and marvelously, did was freshen up a well established genre, with some killer tracks that keep the listener engrossed and audibly intrigued.  Tracks like like “Trinity” and “The Hideous Veil of Innocence” fine tune the balance of heavy chugging riffs with roaring harmonics, while still showing off some flare with a hefty helping of doom. The album’s title track, “Souverain”, is a magnificent example of Atrexial combining all of their ferocious qualities in one swift, unrelenting strike. The breakdown alone would make what’s left of even the most rotten corpse’s arm hair stand at attention.
There is no doubt that fans of raw, gritty black metal, that boasts excellent production quality, will enjoy Souverain. Atrexial will remind fans of the ferocity of metal legends Cradle of Filth, Emperor, and even Lamb of God; all while maintaining a crisp edge, like a freshly sharpened axe that’s ready to strike. It’s incredibly rare and refreshing for a debut album to sound this savage, yet smooth. Atrexial will come across to fans as an impressive, well oiled machine and it will blow their minds when they find out that this is their first rodeo.  Bottom line, ladies and gentlemen, Souverain is a massively explosive first outing, which displays a tremendous amount of promise. The exceptional musical prowess of Atrexial is staggering, to the point that is almost unfathomable that Souverian is the beginning of their journey. Souverian is quite possibly the best black metal album of 2017 regardless of what comes out over the next 7 months.  Make sure to jump aboard this ship sooner, rather than later, so you’re not left in all of its wake.

  1. Enthronement
  2. The Hideous Veil of Innocence
  3. Under the Scourge of Lamashtu
  4. Catharsis Through Torment
  5. Unmerciful Imperial Majesty
  6. Illuminatur
  7. The Ominous Silence
  8. Ascension
  9. Shadows of the Nephilim Throne
  10. Trinity
  11. Souverain
  12. Eternal
Naga S. Maelström – Guitars, Bass, Synths, Songwriting & Backing Vocals
Louen – Main vocals, Guitars & Lyrics
Labelua – Drums
Follow Atrexial here:
Written by Ken Kaizer for Bloodrock Media on May 5, 2017
Check out our website and follow us on social media