Act Of Defiance is built around the idea of writing and composing the way we want without any other influences on the music, and if people don’t like it, that’s fine,” says Act Of Defiance guitarist and co-founder Chris Broderick.

So it’s not just a clever name!

Old Scars, New Wounds is the band’s second full length album, and I have to say, it’s an improvement on an already good recipe. I dipped my finger in, and I think I tasted just a hint of…. hmm… saffron? Awesome!

I actually played with these guys two years ago, and their stage show backs up their creedo, let me tell you. Their new album is a wonderful continuance of it too, not letting itself slide too much.

The thing I immediately got from this album (especially on “Reborn” and “M.I.A.”) was an amalgamation of two other bands, Avenged Sevenfold and Chimaira, which, given Henry Derek’s history with Scar The Martyr, is a tad surprising. I knew he could sing, but STM was djent, and had a sort of flatness to his vocals then – which totally worked for them, but still. When you hear Derek sing on this album, his hybrid sing/scream hearkens to James Hetfield, which is where the whole Avenged Sevenfold thing comes from. I honestly wasn’t expecting it the first time I heard it!

I don’t really like Avenged Sevenfold, I think their sound is too pretty, but I DO like this. Derek switches from pretty to menacing seamlessly, and Broderick’s oh, so tasty licks compliment that as well. We already knew dude could S-H-R-E-D from his days in Megadeth, but the guy can also lay down a brutal, driving riff (they’re all, also, super fuckin cool to hang out with for an afternoon)!

In the end, you have an eleven song album that’s definitely driving you somewhere, and since it’s really fast, it doesn’t really matter if it’s driving you into a wall or a strip club; the ride is going to be a lot of fun. And for this, I give Old Scars, New Wounds a 4 out of 5.

FFO: Skinlab, Chimaira, In Flames

Henry Derek –  vocals
Chris Broderick – guitars, backing vocals
Shawn Drover – drums
Matt Bachand – bass, backing vocals

01 – M.I.A.
02 – Molten Core
03 – Overexposure
04 – The Talisman
05 – Lullaby of Vengeance
06 – Circle of Ashes
07 – Reborn
08 – Conspiracy of the Gods
09 – Another Killing Spree
10 – Broken Dialect
11 – Rise of Rebellion

Check out Act of Defiance here:



Written by Hobbes Caltous for Bloodrock Media, October 17, 2017.