Abandoned Souls released their EP Make It Last courtesy of Fiend Records on April 29, 2017. This is the band’s newest release since the 2014 release of Insightful Minds at Ease.

The EP opens up with track Prove It”, starting your journey with a metallic beat before introducing vocals singing about how time waits for no one – a message everyone can relate to. Vocal combinations and styling over drums and groove-filled riffs fill your ears. Best of Me” greets you with hard riffs and supporting drums, providing a melody over which vocals lay as if they were meant to be. “So Through” is a song that provides a ballad-esque feel to it. The band slows it down a little, displaying that their talent doesn’t just have to be hard to be felt. The instrumental composition of this song along with the emotional, meaningful words combine to create a modern day ballad – in my opinion, the perfect way to wrap up this Make It Last.

Make It Last is an album that will take you on a pilgrimage from metal to ballad in one sitting – a seamless transition from song to song. Each song will take you to a different level, boredom never creeping in, your attention held from the beginning of the first song to the end of the last song. Each melody, transition, word was clearly thought out and planned – and it shows. If you’re a fan of albums that present you with variety – grab this EP and check it out. 


  1. Prove It
  2. Make It Last
  3. Best Of Me
  4. Stand Out Front
  5. So Through

James Todd – Vocals
Derek De Kort – Guitar
Reagan Thorne – Bass
Tom Dobrentey – Drums


Bloodrock Media Rating:  4.0 out of 5.0 axes

Written by Har-Lena Quinn for Bloodrock Media on June 18, 2017